700 subscribers: Thank you!

700 subscribers: Thank you!
How I feel about reaching 700 subscribers on this newsletter! (Photo by Olivia Nadel)

Here’s something fun: There’s now just about 700 of you receiving this newsletter every week!

I remember starting this newsletter three (!) years ago, with a mere 70 subscribers I imported from a defunct email list I assembled during college. I fully expected all 70 of them to unsubscribe, but none of them did. And now there’s 10 times as many of you here!

💞
So mainly what I want to say is: Thank you for being here. It’s really amazing to have this community of readers interested in a more inclusive and equitable future for the Boy Scouts of America.
  • This newsletter has gone through many eras, and y’all have helped me shape each one of them. Most of the changes I’ve made over the years have been inspired by reader feedback, and I always appreciate hearing from you.
  • I’ve also greatly expanded my ambitions for this little corner of the internet. What started as rambling, inconsistent posts (please don’t go looking in the archive) have become a weekly schedule of reported journalism, with a podcast to boot.
  • And I’ve had the incredible privilege of interviewing a cast of truly inspiring people, and sharing their stories here.

What’s next: This newsletter will keep chugging along, with weekly posts and monthly podcasts. As my book gets closer to publication in June, there might be more content related to that, which I hope y’all won’t mind. (By the way, have you pre-ordered it yet??)

  • You might also notice things look a bit different around here. I recently migrated my newsletter from Substack to a new platform called Ghost, mostly because Substack continues to platform far-right extremists and Nazis. Nothing should change on your end as a subscriber (all memberships, free and paid, have been transferred over seamlessly).
  • In the meantime, I’d love to hear from you: What stories do you want to see? What questions do you have? What would you love to learn more about?

Thank you for reading.

🚀
And if you like this newsletter, why not share it with a friend and help me find the next 700 subscribers?