Episode 1: Steven Cozza

As a teenager in the 1990s, Steven Cozza founded Scouting for All, one of the first campaigns for gay inclusion in the Boy Scouts of America.

Welcome to the new Morally Straight Podcast. I’ll be using these episodes to bring you closer to some of the key people who have fought for LGBTQ+ inclusion in the Boy Scouts of America.

In the years I’ve spent writing this newsletter and reporting my book, I’ve had the privilege of speaking with an wide array of scouters, teenagers, parents, activists, and everyday Americans who worked toward a better future for our nation’s bedrock youth organization.

Each month, I’ll sit down for a 20-minute conversation with one of them, and share it here for my paid subscribers. This is my first foray in podcasting, and I’m considering it an experiment — so the format or frequency of it may evolve. (Don’t be shy if you have feedback for me!)

In this first episode, I’m talking to Steven Cozza, who as a teenager in the 1990s founded Scouting for All, one of the first campaigns for gay inclusion in the BSA. We talked about what drew him into Scouting, why he decided to fight for it and how it continues to shape his life today. I hope you enjoy the conversation as much as I did.